It wasn’t until the 13th hole at the ANA Inspiration that word got to Lexi Thompson that a viewer at home had contacted the tournament to highlight a rule violation from earlier where the 22-year-old appeared to put a marker at the side of her ball before lifting it and replacing in front of the marker prior to a putt of less than two feet.
Though this infraction was missed by tournament officials, one pedantic viewer e-mailed in to state that Lexi had breached Rule 20-7c (Playing From Wrong Place). The young golfer was then given a four-stroke penalty which completely cancelled out her three shot advantage.
"It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it," Thompson later told the Golf Channel. "I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me. I wasn't expecting what happened today to happen and I will learn from it."
Incredibly, Thompson still nearly managed a win with three birdies on the last six holes before missing a 20-foot eagle putt and handing the win to South Korean So Yeon Ryu – who is expected to now move up to 2nd in the world.
If you love watching the game (or want to brush up on the rules in order to one day cost a 22-year-old her first major trophy from the comfort of your sofa) grab a subscription to Golf Monthly – and save up to 26% off today.